Genre Transformation: A Poem: My Identity

I am African

I am North African

I am Algerian

I am Amazigh

I am Kabyle

Who are you to tell me who I am?

Who are you to force a title on me?

Who are you to write my story?

Who are you to decide my identity?

Who are you to tell me I am Arab?

 

I want you to try

I want you to research

I want you to read

I want you to learn

I want you to understand

 

Learn what Amazigh means

Learn what Arab means

Learn where North Africa is

Learn where the Middle East is

Learn the difference between these regions and people

 

Morocco is more than Argan oil

Algeria is more than just the Sahara desert

Tunisia is more than a forgotten country

Libya is more than the place Gaddafi was murdered

North Africa is more than what is exposed to the media

 

I am proud to be North African

I am proud to be Algerian

I am proud to be Muslim

I am proud to be a woman

I am proud to be a North African Algerian Muslim woman.

 

Maria Belayadi

image credit

4 thoughts on “Genre Transformation: A Poem: My Identity

  1. Wow! This is a great genre transformation of your sustained argument about education and informing oneself about cultures and identity. It helped to first read your argument post and then see how well that translates into meaningful words in your poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

